Sunday, December 21, 2008

AntiVirus QuickScan Trick- Fake security software

If you ever prompted with a message that your computer is stuck by the spyware from antivirus-quickscan.com, beware. It's a nasty trick. Do not click OK. Do not click Cancel. Clicking OK or Cancel will instruct antivirus-quickscan.com to download their malware. Instead, click the Close button.

UPDATES:
* May 07, 2009 - another clone, antivirusquickscanv1.com is Fake AV

According to Dancho Danchev's A Diverse Portfolio of Fake Security Software - Part Four, antivirus-quickscan is one of the fake security software that prey on unsuspecting Internet users. Antivirus-quickscan.com is also one of the site that peddled the infamous fake anti-virus software called "Antivirus Pro 2009".

AntiVirus QuickScan
Click the X to avoid malware from antivirus-quickscan.com

The fraudulent antivirus-quickscan.com is operated from Russia. And if you have been infected with the fake anti-virus Antivirus Pro 2009, go to removal instructions page.

WHOIS information for: antivirus-quickscan.com:

Domain name: antivirus-quickscan.com

Registrant Contact:
Privat person
Andrey Repalov tvdomains@lycos.com
+74956541487 fax: +74956541487
ul. Chernikova 87-23
Moskva Moskovskay oblast 112471
ru

Administrative Contact:
Andrey Repalov tvdomains@lycos.com
+74956541487 fax: +74956541487
ul. Chernikova 87-23
Moskva Moskovskay oblast 112471
ru

Technical Contact:
Andrey Repalov tvdomains@lycos.com
+74956541487 fax: +74956541487
ul. Chernikova 87-23
Moskva Moskovskay oblast 112471
ru

Billing Contact:
Andrey Repalov tvdomains@lycos.com
+74956541487 fax: +74956541487
ul. Chernikova 87-23
Moskva Moskovskay oblast 112471
ru

DNS:
ns1.managehostdns.com
ns2.managehostdns.com
ns3.managehostdns.com

Created: 2008-12-14
Expires: 2009-12-14


For more info, check the suspected domain name at DNS-BH - Malware Domain Blocklist.

Related posts:
* AVG Anti-Virus Falsely Detects User32.dll As A Trojan

1 comments:

Hollie September 6, 2009 9:25 AM  

Thanks so much for the info- i googled the site sending me the notification, and yours was the first that popped up, so glad to find out BEFORE i clicked anything!! :D

Blogger template by Ourblogtemplates.com

Back to TOP